3

My Favorite Memory of Anthony Bourdain: AMA #10

Plus, why every recipe seems to be SPICY right now.
3

This is our second week of answering questions sent via email instead of posted in the comments. EVERYONE can hear my answers, but only paid subscribers will have access to that email address.

If you want to submit your questions, become a paid subscriber. Click on this link for 50% off your first year.

I know what you’re thinking: why does a guy like me need your $6?

A lot of people ask how I do it all. The truth is, I don’t. Between my marketing business, my production company, and my hospitality company, I employ a lot of talented people. I can’t do what I do without them. The small subscription fee helps compensate my team fairly, keep the lights on, and (let’s be honest) stock the fridge.


Here are this week’s questions, answered in the above video:

From Ed:
My question is historical.  When did we begin to have spice (heat) a significant part of most “modern” recipes?  For example, it seems like virtually all recipes on Cooks Country, and similar cooking shows, now have at least some crushed red pepper.

To place this in context, I have had the good fortune to spend some time in Chengdu, China – the center of Szechuan artistry.  My hosts warned me at one restaurant that one dish would produce heat in the front of my mouth, another at the back, and another dish would make my lips go numb (the descriptions were right on!)  I am not a great fan of heat, I found the careful balance of heat and spice wonderful, certainly much better than the gratuitous jalapeno approach I find most everywhere now (evidence the Super Bowl adverts for flaming Frito-Lay stuff this year).

So, can you provide a bit of perspective/commentary. 

Links:

Mala Market
The Woks of Life
China Sichuan Food

From Robin: 
My question is about your friend Anthony Bourdain, and I hope I am not overstepping here. He was such a magnetic presence. He made those of us following him from afar feel like we were a part of his life and he is so deeply missed. I just ordered a shirt of him flipping the bird and it makes me smile when I look at it. 🙂 I can almost hear his voice when I look at it. 

Can you share a favorite memory of time you spent with him and how he influenced your life going forward? 


Want to me answer your question? Become a paid subscriber.

And if you’re already a paid subscriber and need the email address, go here.

Oh and by way…

Substack just released an app! So now you can get everything you love about Spilled Milk in a handy app on your phone.

Read Andrew Zimmern's Spilled Milk in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Again, thank you for supporting my work.

Best,

AZ

3 Comments
Authors
Andrew Zimmern