36 Comments
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

So were heading to Kahului, HI for a little beach time and some good food. Sea food!!!!

Winters are long in Minnesota ya know

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

BTW, very sweet pic of you and your dad. Bearded Andrew ….mirror image.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

We just booked a fall trip to Napa. Looking forward to the seasonal food and some nice wine, of course.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

Beach will always be 1st choice. But lots of fun to be had in the mountains as well. Itching to go to Costa Rica! But I think this year will probably stay a bit closer. Nothing for spring break…but working on a trip to the Keys & I want to get to Maine this summer. I’ve never been & I have no idea why.

Expand full comment

My wife and I are going to Disney World for a week in March. Which brings me to a question I have been wanting to ask you, Andrew, for a long time. The Disney food scene has erupted to a conglomerate of culinary delight, from fine dining to the best hot dogs you'll ever taste. So, my question is when are you going to do a Disney Food show? Delicious Destinations--Disney would be a winner!

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

I think some hikes along the Columbia Gorge of Oregon/Washington would give me a good spring boost. Mt. Rainer is closer, but I do love seeing the river. Pack up those boots and pack!

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

I can't wait to get out of here for a while. I work at a College/Seminary in Oregon. Between the weather and Covid's affects on the campus, it's time to get away. We're heading to Molokai the end of April. Never been and can't wait to experience it. All that said, it really is hard to complain about anything, with the thoughts of all the people in Ukraine and what they're facing. Unfathomable.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

Hmmmmm well since I live near the beach year-round in Naples, FL, I would take ANY location where I could sip on one more espresso with my dad, or have one more cup of coffee with my mom, both of whom have gone on to that great spring break in the sky....or wherever it is. With me, the people always make the place. However, I do recall a great spring break in Panorama, BC, several years back and worthy of another visit.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

We are going to visit family in California

Expand full comment

A beach .... always a beach! My wife and I live on Pensacola Beach.

Expand full comment

I am feeling the general vibe trips that are more regional than abroad, so for us it’s the White Mountains of New Hampshire. I’m hoping that comes with wood grilled somethings and a delicious dipping sauce! I have hiked over 40 peaks in New England and I may just take this year off and eat! Where do I go?

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

Andrew (Spilled Milk) , you have been a true inspiration to me for longer than you can imagine. As to what to do for spring break, take your Dad with you to the beach, there's skiing there as well and you don't have to dress in layers just to stop frostbite! Besides, you can enjoy an umbrella drink together and relax after your susching through the waves . For me, I'm trying to decide between a Frozen Margherita or a Bailey's Adult Milkshake 🤔, better yet, I believe I'll have both. You only live once, it's great to enjoy your views. Have a pleasant day. Stay safe, stay strong. Thank you for your, so very interesting insights and for inviting me / us along for the ride.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

Been talking about taking a trip for some time but stuff keeps coming up...life. Got famly on Guam but the ticket per person average about $2,000 so that will have to wait until who knows. I guess it'll either be in Tennessee or Myrtle beach for our next trip. Hopefully it will happen this summer, fingers crossed. Anyone free to take on two dogs for the weekend?

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

Before my hip surgery in April, we'll take our dog to the beach for a few days and relax....trying not to think of next few weeks. :)

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

Someplace cold and wet, unlike California :-(.

OK, that's the whiny answer. What I really want is to see friends I haven't seen for a while, and it really doesn't matter where they are.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

If I could afford to go somewhere, hmm. I'd go somewhere I could ride horses and eat good food. 7 to 10 days should do it ! Have you ever done that ? Gone to a dude ranch, etc.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

I enjoy both types of vacations....all usually center around food and where to eat!!!

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

For the second year in a row, I have missed going to my favorite winter place, St John, USVI.😢… Last year was hesitant because of Covid..this year, doing work on my house. Hopefully Bay Area late summer..or New Hampshire..but only for a long weekend…

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Andrew Zimmern

pink sand blue water

Expand full comment

Alas. I'm a light delivery driver, my wife a chef at a university. While I may get a job upgrade soon for right now we have not enough cash to take a vacation. Heck we just paid off most of our moving expenses from 4 years back.

Vacation? Not any time soon.

Expand full comment

I know this is a semi-older post, but I visited Duluth, MN recently, very nice and great people there. For this I would say I like going on hikes, I do like Mountain Trails. However would have to say the Beach, but in the Winter time. Not sure why, but I enjoy going for a walk on a Beach sometimes in the off-season during Winter.

Expand full comment

Heading to the superstition Mountains this weekend in northern Arizona. Should be nice and cool for sleeping weather.

Expand full comment

We are heading to the Superstition Mountains west of Phoenix.

Expand full comment

Beach, but I mean Coastal Maine.

Expand full comment

You and your dad look like two peas in a pod. Great smiles.

Expand full comment

We can’t really afford to “go places”, but we’ll probably go crabbing off the pier on Saturday – almost like a vacation!

Expand full comment

Travel restrictions permitting, I'd prefer to get back over to Japan. Barring that, something more local like the San Jaun Islands or the Olympic Mountains are on the top of my list.

Expand full comment